Rediscover Formula One

The unofficial Formula One site with the latest happenings!

Archive for the ‘Malaysian Grand Prix’ Category

Formula One news roundup

leave a comment

Well we figured that instead of writing 3-4 posts for news everyday and unnecessarily clutter everything, we can have one post with all the summary of the news in f1 racing. So here is the formula one round-up for today :

Spyker lodges? protest against Toro Rosso, Stewards Clueless – Its official now, Spyker has lodged a protest against the Toro Rosso team for copying the design of Red Bull. The Malaysian Grand Prix’s Race Stewards who were to take a decision were unable to do so, saying that the matter is already under court’s purview.
Williams finds new sponsor – Team AT&T Williams found a new sponsor in budget airline Air Asia.

Massa fastest in first practice – The first Friday practice was dominated by Ferrari F1’s Felipe Massa who posted the fastest time of 1:34.972. He was followed by McLaren’s Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton.

Written by Formula One Addict

April 6th, 2007 at 7:03 am

Can Kimi be the Schumi in Malaysia ?

one comment

Ferrari have a record to keep, that of the maximum number of wins on the Sepang circuit where every year the Formula One Malaysian Grand Prix is held. But if we see the 4 wins Ferrari has had on the track, 3 have been courtesy Michael Schumacher. And if anyone remembers the 1999 race in which Eddie Irvine won, it was Michael Schumacher who handed the race to Eddie after dominating it throughout so that he could contend for the driver’s championship(Michael had had an accident at Silverstone that year) . So the question is that can Ferrari win at Sepang without Micheal ?

Lets skip to the current year and to the 2007 formula one season, things are different, it time already for the 2007 Malaysian Grand Prix, different rivals, different machines and ofcourse no Michael Schumacher. Ferrari will be pinning all of their hopes on the iceman Kimi Raikkonen after his spectacular start to the season. For the past two years , the Renaults have been winning at Sepang. The 2005 version was son by Fernando Alonso and the 2006 Malaysian Grand Prix was won by Giancarlo Fisichella in their Renaults. Kimi Raikkonen surely has momentum on his side, but recent worries about his engine troubles so make the prospects look dodgy. And then there is Felipe Massa, its only 1 race and dont forget it was an unlucky one for Massa, he will want to take the position of the number one driver in Ferrari desperately and would certainly not let any Finnish teammate come in his way.

We can speculate all we want, but the final result will come only on April 8th 2007, when the 2007 Malaysian Grand Prix will be GO GO GO !!!!!

Who will win, who will fail, who will be the next apprentice, next Schumi is more appropriate !

Technorati Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Next up is Malaysian Grand Prix 2007

one comment

Its time to head to Sepang for the 2007 Malaysian Grand Prix. Like always it will be held at the incredibly modern and the swanky Sepang International Circuit.

Satellite Photo of Sepang Circuit

Seen above is a satellite photo of the Malaysian Grand Prix circuit, the famous umbrella shaped tower like thingy can also be seen. The race has 56 laps across the 5.54 km circuit. The race has been won the most number of times by Michael Schumacher (three) in the years 2000,2001 and 2004. Ferrari has won the race four times with Eddie Irvine winning apart from Michael Schumacher.

2006 Statistics of the Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang

Winner Giancarlo Fisichella

Winning team Renault

Winning time 1:30:40.529

Pole time 1:33.840

Pole driver Giancarlo Fisichella

Pole team Renault

Fastest lap 1:34.803

Fastest lap driver Fernando Alonso

Fastest lap team Renault

Written by Formula One Addict

March 27th, 2007 at 11:38 am

%d bloggers like this: