Rediscover Formula One

The unofficial Formula One site with the latest happenings!

Robert Kubica gets maiden pole at Bahrain

leave a comment

This is a race he will remember forever, the Bahrain Grand Prix 2008. Robert Kubica got his first ever pole position breaking Ferrari’s hopes of dominance in the middle eastern circuit. Felipe Massa was second while Lewis Hamilton came third. Massa’s Ferrari teammate Kimi Raikkonen could only manage fourth. It was an impressive fightback from the young Brit Lewis Hamilton who had crashed severely on Friday. His car was completely totalled and the McLaren engineers did a fine job of putting it back together.

Force India showed some guts on the track today but still couldnt qualify for the second qualifying session. Fisichella again clocked faster than Adrian Sutil by .3 of a second.

It promises to be a great race tomorrow with three teams fighting it out, but what has surprised me the most is Kubica’s dominance over teammate Nick Heidfeld who was drawing all the praise last year for being Mr.Consistent.

The qualifying positions were

1. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 1 min 33.096
2. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:33.123
3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:33.292
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:33.418
5. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) McLaren 1:33.488
6. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:33.737
7. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:33.994
8. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams – Toyota 1:34.015
9. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:35.057
10. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 1:35.115
11. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 1:32.371
12. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:32.508
13. Timo Glock (Germany) Toyota 1:32.528
14. Nelsinho Piquet (Brazil) Renault 1:32.790
15. Sebastien Bourdais (France) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1:32.915
16. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams – Toyota 1:32.943
17. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull – Renault 1:33.433
18. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Force India – Ferrari 1:33.501
19. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1:33.562
20. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India – Ferrari 1:33.845
21. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri – Honda 1:34.140
22. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri – Honda 1:35.725

%d bloggers like this: