Rediscover Formula One

The unofficial Formula One site with the latest happenings!

Ferrari Dominate Malaysian GP qualifying as McLarens are penalised

leave a comment

Felipe Massa

Ferrari came back with a bang this weekend bagging a cool 1-2 to get back into the game. Felipe Massa got the pole position with Kimi Raikkonen coming in behind his teammate.

Meanwhile McLaren on the other hand had a super bad session with both of its drivers being penalised for impeding other cars. Heiki Kovalainen was penalised for impeding Fernando Alonso’s Renault and Lewis Hamilton was penalised for impeding Nick Heidfeld’s BMW. Heidfeld was pretty open in his criticism of Lewis Hamilton , after hearing McLaren’s argument that they did the best they could, he had this to say to them :

“If they did the best that they could do, they didn’t do very well.”

“I was approaching my last lap on the option tyre and it would have been my quickest lap if not for the McLarens driving in the middle of the racing line at 80kmph.”  Heidfeld said

Earlier the FIA had released a statement that the McLarens were running slowly on the racing lines while other cars were on their flying laps and thats why they had been penalised.

As far as Force India goes, the difference between Sutil’s and Fisichella’s class was apparent, Fisichella clocked approximately one second faster that his teammate, Vijay Mallya’s decision to hire Giancarlo Fisichella seems to be a good one now.

The starting grid after the various disqualifications was :

Pos   Driver   Nat   Team   Time 
1 Felipe Massa  BR  Ferrari  01:35.7
2 Kimi Raikkonen  FIN  Ferrari  01:36.2
3 Jarno Trulli  I  Toyota  01:36.7
4 Robert Kubica  PL  BMW Sauber  01:36.7
5 Nick Heidfeld  D  BMW Sauber  01:36.8
6 Mark Webber  AUS  Red Bull-Renault  01:37.0
7 Fernando Alonso  E  Renault  01:38.5
8 Heikki Kovalainen FIN  McLaren-Mercedes  01:36.6
9 Lewis Hamilton  GB  McLaren-Mercedes  01:36.7
10 Timo Glock  D  Toyota  01:39.7
11 Jenson Button  GBR  Honda  01:35.2
12 David Coulthard  GBR  Red Bull-Renault  01:35.4
13 Nelson A. Piquet  BR  Renault  01:35.6
14 Rubens Barrichello  BR  Honda  01:35.6
15 Sebastian Vettel  D  Toro Rosso-Ferrari  01:35.6
16 Nico Rosberg  D  Williams-Toyota  01:35.7
17 Giancarlo Fisichella  I  Force India-Ferrari  01:36.2
18 Sebastien Bourdais  F  Toro Rosso-Ferrari  01:36.7
19 Takuma Sato  J  Super Aguri-Honda  01:37.1
20 Adrian Sutil  D  Force India-Ferrari  01:37.1
21 Anthony Davidson  GB  Super Aguri-Honda  01:37.5
22 Kazuki Nakajima J  Williams-Toyota  01:36.4
%d bloggers like this: