Rediscover Formula One

The unofficial Formula One site with the latest happenings!

Hamilton on pole, but Raikkonen says hold !

one comment

McLaren in the 2007 formula One Chinese Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton snatched the pole position for the formula one Shanghai Grand Prix, with the Ferrari duo of Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa in 2nd and 3rd respectively. However Kimi had a word of caution for Lewis saying that their 2nd place was primarily due to the fuel strategy of Ferrari. Kimi was quicker than Lewis in the practice sessions and the earlier qualifying sessions.

“If you look at Qualifying One and Qualifying Two, we were a lot quicker.

“So I would say we are running on different fuel loads. I’m happy and comfortable with our position and strategy.” Kimi Raikkonen said

Lewis Meanwhile was ecstatic after he was not disqualified from the the formula one Japanese Grand Prix. Many speculate it was his driving style behind the safety car which led to a crash:

“It has been a rollercoaster week and an emotional journey for me over the last couple of days,” he said.

“I tried as best as I could to put the Japan GP inquiry behind me but it’s not easy. Then we came here this morning not really having the pace of the Ferraris or Fernando Alonso and perhaps it wasn’t looking good.

“But it’s my first time here and I slowly got to grips with it and I’m absolutely chuffed to grab pole.” Lewis Hamilton said

Formula One Chinese Grand Prix 2007 Qualifying Results :
1. Lewis Hamilton (GB) McLaren 1 min 35.908 seconds
2. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari 1:36.044
3. Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 1:36.221
4. Fernando Alonso (Spa) McLaren 1:36.576
5. David Coulthard (GB) Red Bull 1:37.619
6. Ralf Schumacher (Ger) Toyota 1:38.013
7. Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:38.153
8. Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber 1:38.455
9. Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber 1:38.472
10. Jenson Button (GB) Honda 1:39.285
11. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Ita) Toro Rosso 1:36.862
12. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Toro Rosso 1:36.891
13. Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota 1:36.959
14. Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Renault 1:36.991
15. Anthony Davidson (GB) Super Aguri 1:37.247
16. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams-BMW 1:37.483
17. Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Honda 1:37.251
18. Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Renault 1:37.290
19. Alexander Wurz (Aut) Williams-BMW 1:37.456
20. Takuma Sato (Jap) Super Aguri 1:38.218
21. Adrian Sutil (Ger) Spyker 1:38.668
22. Sakon Yamamoto (Jap) Spyker 1:39.336

Written by Formula One Addict

October 6th, 2007 at 8:12 am

%d bloggers like this: