Rediscover Formula One

The unofficial Formula One site with the latest happenings!

Lewis Hamilton wins the wet-wet Japanese Grand Prix


Lewis Hamilton, Heikki Kovalainen and Kimi Raikkonen on 2007 Japanese Grand Prix podium
It was raining cats and dogs at the start and it was raining at the end, the Japanese Grand Prix was run under totally wet conditions, with a large number of laps being run directly behind the safety car. It was an unlucky day for two time world champion Fernando Alonso who crashed out in the crucial race with no points. The whole Grand Prix looked like a farce actually, it was more keeping on track than racing.

Lewis Hamilton winning the 2007 Japanese Grand Prix

In the end it was Kimi Raikkonen’s battle with fellow Finn Heiki Kovalainen which was the center of attention, but Kovalainen managed to hold back Kimi in the dying stages of the race to claim his first podium of the season by finishing in second place. Kimi finished third. Felipe Massa had some wheel to wheel racing action with Robert Kubica in the last lap bumping and grinding against Kubica’s BMW Sauber. In the end though it looks like that the driver’s championship shall goto Lewis Hamilton, unless something extraordinary happens : He retires from a race.

Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa at Fuji 2007

Final Race Result of the 2007 Japanese Grand Prix
1 Lewis Hamilton (GB) McLaren-Mercedes
2 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Renault +8.377 secs
3 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari +9.478secs
4 David Coulthard (GB) Red Bull-Renault +20.297
5 Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Renault +38.864
6 Felipe Massa (Brz) Ferrari +49.042
7 Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber +49.285
8 Vitantonio Liuzzi (Ita) Toro Rosso-Ferrari +55.622
9 Adrian Sutil (Ger) Spyker-Ferrari +1:00.129
10 Rubens Barrichello (Brz) Honda +1:28.342
11 Jenson Button (GB) Honda one lap behind
12 Sakon Yamamoto (Jpn) Spyker-Ferrari one lap
13 Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota one Lap
14 Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber two laps
15 Takuma Sato (Jpn) Super Aguri-Honda two laps
R Ralf Schumacher (Ger) Toyota 55 laps completed
R Anthony Davidson (GB) Super Aguri-Honda 54 laps
R Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams-Toyota 49 laps
R Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 46 laps
R Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull-Renault 45 laps
R Fernando Alonso (Spa) McLaren-Mercedes 41 laps
R Alexander Wurz (Aut) Williams 19 laps

Formula One Drivers’ world championship 2007 after Japanese Grand Prix
Name Points
1 Lewis Hamilton 107
2 Fernando Alonso 95
3 Kimi Raikkonen 90
4 Felipe Massa 80
5 Nick Heidfeld 56
6 Robert Kubica 35
7 Heikki Kovalainen 30
8 Giancarlo Fisichella 21
9 Nico Rosberg 15
10 David Coulthard 13
11 Alexander Wurz 13
12 Mark Webber 10
13 Jarno Trulli 7
14 Ralf Schumacher 5
15 Takuma Sato 4
16 Jenson Button 2
17 Sebastian Vettel 1
18 Rubens Barrichello 0
19 Scott Speed 0
20 Anthony Davidson 0
21 Adrian Sutil 0
22 Christijan Albers 0
23 Vitantonio Liuzzi 0
24 Sakon Yamamoto 0

Photos : Ferrari Media and McLaren

%d bloggers like this: