Rediscover Formula One

The unofficial Formula One site with the latest happenings!

Hamilton wins chaotic Canadian Grand Prix

leave a comment

lewis hamilton

Lewis Hamilton snatched his maiden formula one victory, in his maiden pole position grand prix start. The race was extremely chaotic and featured four safety car periods and a spectacular accident among other things. The race also saw two top drivers, Giancarlo Fisichella and Felipe Massa being disqualified for exiting the pitlane when the light was red. the funny part is the entrance light was green, anyway i really dont understand all these complicated pitting rules. 

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable race with lots of accidents to keep your eyes busy (i know i am sick)

Nick Heidfeld took the second place from Alonso when he went wide at the first corner. Lewis though was able to hold on to his 1st place. Alexander Wurz of Williams was eventually third. Fernando Alonso had been awarded a ten second stop and go penalty. Nick Heidfeld was runners up and brought a lot of joy to the BMW Sauber team after Kubica’s crash.

Robert Kubica suffered a sprained ankle after a huge crash into the barriers on lap 26. It was earlier feared to be a broken leg. At the time of the accident it was looking a lot worse death even, later when everyone was talking about a broken leg, i was reminded of Silverstone and Michael Schumacher. But thankfully due to the incredibly safe F1 cars these days he got away rather lightly.

robert kubica

Result of Canadian Grand Prix after 70 laps of Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal

1 Lewis Hamilton (GB) McLaren-Mercedes one hour 44 minutes 11.292sec
2 Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber 4.343 seconds behind
3 Alexander Wurz (Aut) Williams-Toyota 5.325
4 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Renault 6.729
5 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari 13.007
6. Takuma Sato (Jpn) Super Aguri-Honda 16.698
7 Fernando Alonso (Spa) McLaren-Mercedes 21.936
8 Ralf Schumacher (Ger) Toyota 22.888
9 Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull-Renault 22.960
10 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams-Toyota 23.984
11 Anthony Davidson (GB) Super Aguri-Honda 24.318
12 Rubens Barrichello (Brz) Honda 30.439
R Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota 58 laps completed
R Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA) Toro Rosso 54 laps
R Christijan Albers (Ned) Spyker-Ferrari 47 laps
R David Coulthard (GB) Red Bull-Renault 36 laps
R Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber 26 laps
R Adrian Sutil (Ger) Spyker-Ferrari 21 laps
R Scott Speed (USA) Toro Rosso-Ferrari eight laps
R Jenson Button (GB) Honda no laps
DQ Giancarlo Fisichella* (Ita) Renault 51 laps
DQ Felipe Massa* (Brz) Ferrari 51 laps

Giancarlo Fisichella and Felipe Massa disqualified for leaving the pit lane jumping a red light

Written by Formula One Addict

June 11th, 2007 at 9:28 am

%d bloggers like this: